#ChesterCulture – #LoveEquals – Chester supporting LGBTQ+ people.

#LoveEquals – Chester supporting LGBTQ+ people.
Beth Kennedy

I want to share with you a project that means a lot to me…

I started my new job doing Content & Outreach just before Christmas last year.

The company encouraged me to come up with fresh ideas – one of which ended up being the #LoveEquals charity campaign.

Creating something special and meaningful for the 2nd anniversary of the legislation of same sex marriage in England and Wales was a fantastic way to demonstrate my support but also raise awareness that we, the LGBTQ+ community, still have a long way to go.

I’ve been lucky in the support already as we have trans actress Rebecca Root, Diva Magazine, Gay Star News, Pure FM, Shape History and Out In South London on board with us.

But I want you, in Chester, to be part of it too.

In at least 74 countries it’s outright illegal to be a homosexual and homosexual acts are punishable by death in 10 of those countries.

I know what you’re thinking: “Surely homophobia like this doesn’t happen in the UK any more?”

It really does – even in quaint little Chester. Starting the Love Equals campaign made me realise I don’t have to keep quiet about narrow-minded bullies.

Here are just a handful of not-so-nice instances I’ve had in Chester which I’m sure are tame compared to other’s experiences:

Hoole Road Bridge

I have huge anxiety issues about walking by the side of this road, or any other busy road for all that matter, as so many people have shouted homophobic slurs at me in their cars. A few of the “gems” include: dyke, man, gay (yes, well done, correct) and bloke.

Sealand Road

Four teenage boys in a car stopped alongside me and called me a “f****** dyke” and threw their rubbish at me. They drove off but, unlucky for them, the traffic lights turned red and they were whimpering and winding up their car windows while I approached them and nicely asked them why they had said that.

Watergate Street

I was leaving a bar as a man was arriving. He said, very loudly and in a sneering voice, “Is that a man or a woman?” to the bouncers. I turned around and said “excuse me?” And the bouncers laughed in my face and started jeering at me.

Northgate Street/Watergate Street (countless times)

Bouncers wouldn’t let me into a nightclub, despite being sober, because I “wasn’t wearing a dress” like my other friends and that I “looked like a dyke.”

This Tuesday March 29th, I want you to join me in celebrating LGBTQ+ rights because I know the majority of the Chester community are wonderful people. I want to overrun the negativity we face on a regular basis and I want to turn it into something positive.

Just after midnight on 29th March 2014, the first same sex marriage took place.

On the 2nd anniversary of the legislation of same sex marriage in England and Wales let us celebrate this, whilst reminding the world that there’s still a long way to go.

At the stroke of midnight on 29th March 2016 let’s launch this campaign by telling the world:Two years of same sex marriage! Let’s now see equal marriage and an end to homophobia once and for all. #LoveEquals’.

Sign up by clicking here to have this message automatically sent for you on Twitter, Facebook, Tumblr or Linked in.

Use the hashtag #LoveEquals and support the Chester (and worldwide!) LGBTQ+ community.

Visit www.loveequals.co.uk to start now.

[note from the editor:
Last year this site featured a post about drug culture in Chester. It was questioned as to why we posted it and abuse was directed at the author of the piece.
We would like to take this opportunity to remind you that culture is more than just the arts scene.
You are, of course, entitled to an opinion and your freedom of speech but any abusive or threatening comments will not be tolerated. If there are any occurrences of such actions in this instance then it will be reported to the police as a hate crime.]
Leave a Reply

