#ChesterCulture – World Poetry Day – I Need to Trace Your Face by Nala

I need to trace your face

by Nala Rollo

 

I need to trace your faceimg_0333

With the index finger of my right hand

Around your eyes, nose, lips and cheeks

For two senses always help recollection to be clearer

When missing you in the smallest of hours

 

I need to trace your face

With the index finger of my right hand

So memory may create an image of you perfect

Whilst neither of us adhere to rules or considerations of society’s established standards

And you care not for talk of beauty

Perfect that image is, to me

 

I know you shall cringe if you happen to read this

At the simplistic language

With no consideration for form

But I wanted to explain why

With the index finger of my right hand

I need to trace your face

Leave a Reply

